Duel Review

In which Jac and Stacey argue opposing viewpoints of books we’ve both read

Duel Review: “City of Light”

25420415City of Light by Keri Arthur
Signet: January 5, 2016
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Free from publisher

We often agree in our assessment of books, as our reviews of  Tower of ThornsI Spy a Duke, and Uprooted show. This time, we disagreed. Stacey loved it; Jaclyn barely finished it. We all know reading experience is personal, a relationship forged between author and reader.

Read on to find out what we loved and what we didn’t. Hit the comments and let us know how you feel about it.

The Book…

In a world still recovering from a war between shifters and humans, Tiger is alone. As a déchet, a creature created by humans to balance the field against the shifters, she alone remains among her kind. Despised or hunted by all races: shifters, humans, and vampires, she hides in a destroyed bunker with the ghosts of her past. Until the night she leaves her bunker on a supplies-gathering mission and hears the cry of a child. Unable to ignore the cries and leave the child, Penny, for the vampires to eat, she unwittingly becomes entangled in an attempt to save other kidnapped children like Penny. Penny’s uncle Jonas, a full shifter, and a woman named Nuri, are investigating the disappearances of these children, and need Tiger’s specialized skills to succeed.

(more…)

Advertisements

Duel Review: ‘Murder of Crows’

17563080Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop
Roc, March 4, 2014 (Urban Fantasy)

The Book…

After winning the trust of the terra indigene residing in the Lakeside Courtyard, Meg Corbyn has had trouble figuring out what it means to live among them. As a human, Meg should be barely tolerated prey, but her abilities as a cassandra sangue make her something more.

The appearance of two addictive drugs has sparked violence between the humans and the Others, resulting in the murders of both species in nearby cities. So when Meg has a dream about blood and black feathers in the snow, Simon Wolfgard—Lakeside’s shape-shifting leader—wonders whether their blood prophet dreamed of a past attack or of a future threat.

As the urge to speak prophecies strikes Meg more frequently, trouble finds its way inside the Courtyard. Now the Others and the handful of humans residing there must work together to stop the man bent on reclaiming their blood prophet—and stop the danger that threatens to destroy them all.

The Conflicting Opinions…

(more…)

Duel Review: ‘A Study in Darkness’

17264584A Study in Darkness (Book 2) by Emma Jane Holloway
Del Rey, October 29, 2013 (Steampunk, Historical, Mystery, Romance)*
Series: The Baskerville Affair

And in this post we have… wait for it… a difference of opinion! Lovely readers, Jaclyn and I have disagreed about how much we like this book. In the following, we proceed to express our opinions. Do you have one? Do you strongly agree or disagree with one (or both) of us? Let us know in the comments!

This is the second novel in a steampunk/gaslamp series that takes place in an alternate Victorian London.

 

Stacey’s Review

Rating: Outstanding Adventure

loved this book. It was full of action, suspense, adventure, intrigue, danger, and romance.

When we left the characters at the end of A Study in Silks , Evelina had saved the day, with her childhood sweetheart’s help (that’s Nick), and had solved the mystery of Athena’s Casket with a little help from her Uncle Holmes (yes, as in Sherlock). The villain was vanquished, but society remained unchanged and all power still resided with the Steam Barons’ Council.

This second installment opens with Nick, now captain of his own pirate airship, ally to a colony of ash rooks, and partner with an air spirit named Athena, as he attacks the airship of the Blue King, one of the worst and most powerful Steam Barons. Next, Evelina still tries to hide her magical abilities but runs afoul of the Gold King; while in the background Uncle Mycroft, Holmes’ brother, is heavily involved in a resistance/revolution movement against the Steam Barons and the status quo.

The plot weaves between Nick, Evelina, Holmes, and Imogen, Evelina’s best friend. Holmes is devious and caring; Nick almost reckless and devoted, Evelina tempted but steadfast, and Imogen delicate but determined. Imogen’s story begins with a horrific dream-vision; Evelina’s with an indiscretion that puts her in the power of the Gold King, and Holmes’ with a bomb in his drawing room. Holloway wastes no time continuing the story, an improvement on the first book in the series.

The novel is very complex, with lots of layers. Transitions between narrators are smoother than they were in the previous book, and villainous narrators are kept to a smaller percentage of the work. I kept turning the pages of this one, as the pacing for me felt very fast – lots of action, all packed into just enough wordage. The plot twists and turns were fun to follow, and although not unexpected, were occasionally creepy and often suspenseful.

I liked that there’s a kind of blur between “good” and “evil” characters in this novel. Evelina finds herself intrigued by the mysterious and manipulative villain; the Gold King is moved to help Evelina and Holmes, although his motives are self-interested. In fact, the characters in this novel are motivated by combinations of convincing, and familiar, emotions: self-interest, greed, love, and principles. No character is one-dimensional. Evelina’s temptation adds uncertainty to the plot and depth to her character. Will it ruin her chances for a happy life? Or will she be able to resist future temptations?

Overall, I loved the combination of the highly complex plot and the fast pace, mystery, romance, and excitement. The humor got me as well – lots of very funny, witty turns of phrase. And the ending! What a cliff-hanger. I felt heartbroken and hopeful at the end. I immediately had to request the third book in the series to find out what happens to Evelina, Nick, and Imogen.

Jaclyn’s Review

Rating: Beach Vacation

I did not enjoy this book nearly as much as Stacey. I didn’t hate it by any means, but I certainly didn’t have the same reading experiences as Stacey. Where Stacey found A Study in Darkness fast-paced, I had a hard time getting through some parts.

A Study in Darkness picks up pretty much from where A Study in Silks left off. Evelina’s still caught up in her feelings for Tobias despite the fact that he gave her up and is marrying another woman. Evelina’s childhood sweetheart, Nick, is off pursuing a career as a pirate and gets himself mixed up in a rebel movement. It’s not long before Evelina also finds herself involved in a intrigue plot that she would rather not be part of. Like the first book, I found A Study in Darkness very slow to get started. I felt that the changing points of view were very distracting and I often found myself thrown off balance when we shift to a different character just as things were getting good. This is not my preference of writing style and probably had a lot to do with my overall enjoyment of the book.

I find it very hard to pin point what exactly made me feel that the pacing was slow, since there was a lot of stuff going on plot-wise. In a lot of ways, A Study in Darkness was an action-adventure novel, but it seems that for me, the action and adventure started to get monotonous. There was tons of intrigue with the rebel factions and backstabbing and what have you. Whatever the reason, it took me awhile to read the book, but I will say that the second half was much faster paced and I enjoyed it more than the first part, perhaps because we had more of a focus on the romance side of things.

While I was happy with the direction of the romance in the second half of the book, I have to admit that I still wasn’t in love with it (I think I read too many historical romances, *sigh*). First off, I loathe love triangles in fiction and a big one plays a part in this series between Evelina, Nick and Tobias. Thankfully, in A Study in Darkness, this triangle aspect was toned down and it’s clear whom Evelina has chosen (which made me happy). I also liked that in this one I finally have a better understanding of the depth of emotion between Evie and Nick. They both talk about how they feel, but in the first book, and for a good part of book 2, they are rarely in the same scenes. From a romance perspective, I found this extremely frustrating, so I liked the fact that this progressed a lot more in Study in Darkness.

Overall, while I enjoyed the same elements as Stacey (especially the moral ambiguity of Evelina), I found this a difficult book to get through. There was just some element that didn’t connect for me like it did for Stacey and instead made for a hard fought for finish. However, the cliffhanger ending will have me back for the conclusion. How can I not after that ending.

*Review copies provided by Edelweiss.

Read-Alikes:

Her Ladyship's Curse (Disenchanted & Co., Book 1, Part #1)Heart's Blood (Blood Magic, #2)Phoenix Rising (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #1)Dead Iron (Age of Steam, #1)The Native Star (Veneficas Americana, #1)

Her Ladyship’s Curse: Another book that both of us disagreed on. Stacey loved and Jaclyn didn’t finish it. So if you liked A Study in Darkness as much as Stacey, Viehl’s steampunk mystery is probably right up your alley.

Heart’s Blood: Magic in a Victorian London, a similar world to that of A Study in Darkness. We also have a naive and innocence amateur detective that resembles Evie.

Phoenix Rising: A fabulous example of a steampunk mystery. Tons of gadgets, lots of action and two terrific characters. Added bonus, the hero is an archivist. Just let that sink in. Yup, it’s awesome!

Dead Iron: Steampunk set in the American West that also has a hint of magic. Not as similar to A Study in Darkness but has a familiar overarching big-bad that our hero, Cedar, and his compatriots have to battle against.

Native Star: Another steampunk set in the West, although in this case, I would say the hero is reminiscent of Tobias, so this one would be perfect for readers rooting for Tobias in A Study in Darkness.