The Battle Ends in “The Autumn Republic”

20883847.jpgThe Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan
Orbit: February 10, 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Free From Library

I’d go there again!
suitcasesuitcasesuitcasesuitcase

The Autumn Republic is the final book in McClellan’s Powder Mage trilogy. Having enjoyed both The Promise of Blood and The Crimson Campaign, I was pretty confident that I would also enjoy The Autumn Republic. In the final book of the trilogy the author ties up loose ends and satisfactorily concludes the trilogy. However, I have since learned that there will be a new trilogy set in the same world with Vlora as one of it’s main characters. Yay! So, I can also say that The Autumn Republic leaves enough room for this upcoming trilogy.

The Autumn Republic picks up right after the events in The Crimson Campaign. Tamas returns to the front after being presumed dead and gets right down to work fighting the Kez. While Tamas would prefer to search for his son, Taniel, who has also been presumed dead after capture, Tamas has to deal with the betrayal of some of his loyal soldiers. Taniel who is incidentally not dead makes his way to his father to rejoin the battle only to be thrown for a loop when his companion, Po, is kidnapped since she has control of a god. Those pesky gods are causing trouble again. Meanwhile Nila is learning to control her powerful skills as a Privileged and Adamat finds himself once again embroiled in investigative work for Tamas, although he’s hoping that this time his family doesn’t suffer for it.

Like the previous books, there is a lot happening in The Autumn Republic and the author keeps the momentum moving in all of these plot lines. And while I certainly have my favourite characters that I want to read about, all of the points of view keep the reader engaged. For such a large book, The Autumn Republic is a quick read because of the fast-paced nature of the narrative. There’s lots of action, magic, fighting, and intrigue, but there’s also a great emphasis to the development of the main characters, which is what drew me to the trilogy in the first place. In the case of The Autumn Republic, readers are treated to a greater presence of Nila in comparison to the first two books, I really liked that she was given a greater focus in this book. Nila was a wonderful character and her interactions with Bo gave this heavier book some much needed levity. Nila and Bo, my new favourites.

If you’ve enjoyed the previous books in the trilogy there is no doubt in my mind that you will like the final installment. The Autumn Republic is everything that I wanted the final book to be. The only bad thing about the book is that it had to end and now I’m forced to wait for the next trilogy to begin (yes, I’m hoping for some cameos from my favourite characters).

Similar Reads

While I did think that Swords and Scoundrels had some flaws, I do think it will appeal to fans of the action-packed nature of The Autumn Republic. The character development wasn’t as strong as I would have hoped, but it was still an entertaining read.

Swords and Scoundrels (Duelists Trilogy, #1)

Share a thought!

