Spacey Adventure Ends on a Lackluster Note: “Their Fractured Light”

13138736Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Disney-Hyperion: December 1, 2015 
Genre: Science Fiction; Romance; Young Adult
Review Source: Free from library.

Liked the place, but the food was bad.
suitcasesuitcase

Their Fractured Light is the third and final book in Kaufman and Spooner’s spacey Starbound trilogy. I’ve enjoyed both These Broken Stars and This Shattered World, but I have to admit to feeling a bit let down by Their Fractured Light.

Their Fractured Light picks up soon after the events in This Shattered World; however, readers are now following two new characters Sofia Quinn, teen con artist, and Gideon Marchant, computer hacker extraordinaire. Like the characters in the previous books, Sofia and Gideon are both fighting against LaRoux Industries. LaRoux Industries has a dastardly plan and both Sofia and Gideon are fighting back unbeknownst to the other. This is the big tension between Gideon and Sofia; neither know that they are essentially on the same side. Secrets. Unnecessarily complicating teen lives since forever.

Sigh. I have to admit the whole secrets and teens fighting against a large corporate conglomerate beggared belief. Perhaps I could have rolled with it, it’s fiction after all, had the other characters from the previous not arrived and then they all saved the day because of team work. I don’t know, it just came across as kind of unrealistic and too warm and fuzzy for me.

As for the romance, I was kind of disappointed. Don’t get me wrong Gideon and Sofia have some great moments, but I felt that their relationship kind of fell to the wayside with all the action and fighting against the man that was happening here. And in all honesty, I kind of felt that way about the romance element in the previous two books in the trilogy. I like the idea of switching up characters with each book, but I don’t think it completely worked if you look at the romance aspect of the books, especially the last two books.

I guess what it really boils down to is that I don’t have much to say about this book. Apologies for the short review. It was just an “okay” read for me. I loved the setting, but I found myself bored with the characters and plot more often than not. I really liked the author’s writing style and the inclusion of multiple points of view (not enough of this in YA land) but ultimately it was not the book for me.

Similar Reads

For similar reads check out my review for These Broken Stars or This Shattered World.

One comment

Share a thought!

