Book Adventures Weekly, Issue 38

Here at The Book Adventures, we’ve been having a crazy week. So we’d like to apologize for the lack of posts last week, and to assure you that we will be back on track this week with plenty to keep you satisfied! Thanks for sticking with us in the meantime.

Onto our reading links…

This post about writing and reading women in science fiction and fantasy makes me want to be more conscious of how I read and review heroines in the genre. Am I being unconsciously too critical? Am I perpetuating the impossible and conflicting ideals of womanhood?

It also reminds me of my grad courses in book history, and learning the life cycle of a book, which includes the relationship between reader and author (see the fourth page of that article for Darnton’s interpretation).

Fran Wilde, author of Updraft, which I reviewed earlier this year, has exciting things to say about The Drowning Eyes by Emily Foster. Even better: There’s a giveaway on Goodreads!

Did you catch the adult coloring book bug? Here are a few coloring books based on novels, like Outlander, Game of Thrones, and Harry Potter. I don’t know about you, but I just became even more interested in getting one or two of my own…

How it feels to have your book banned in schools, by a banned author. Also discussed: how few parents want to read the novels they want to ban.

There are some gorgeous covers on show on the Book Smugglers’ Radar. Do you judge a book by its cover? I do, and I’m not ashamed (I don’t believe in first impressions, so there’s always a second chance for any that don’t look good at first).

P.S. I just got to a few of the links in the first article, and they are also worth sharing: Kate Elliot and Mark Lawrence on writing women. Hint: write characters as people, not other. As individuals, not groups.

Share a thought!

