Fall Itinerary: September-November 2015

As soon as I turn the page on my calendar to September, I immediately feel like the summer is over. Happily this means a whole host of new fall books to look forward to…

Fall Reads

In order of publication date, my most anticipated reads of the fall are:

Archangel’s Enigma by Nalini Singh (September 1, 2015): I will admit to the fact that I have not read the Guild Hunter series in it’s entirety (only the last one, Archangel’s Shadows) but since I loved that one I can’t resist this one and it’s weird hero.

The Gilded Hour by Sara Donati (September 1, 2015): I loved Donati’s Into the Wilderness and I am so intrigued by her newest, which takes readers to 1883 New York. It’s a setting that I’ve become even more interested in since reading The Gods of Gotham.

Beastly Bones by William Ritter (September 22, 2015): Having loved being introduced to Jackaby and his assistant, Abigail Rook in the first book, I am highly anticipating what adventures these two get up to in book two. Highly recommend for Sherlock fans.

The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev (September 29, 2015): Having been very impressed with Dev’s debut novel, A Bollywood Affair, I’m curious what the author will follow-up with. My expectations are very high.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (September 29, 2015): I loved Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy and I am so excited for the start of something new in the same world. It’s already gotten a lot of love and I can’t handle reading other peoples’ reviews; the jealousy is eating me alive (damn review copies!).

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie (October 6, 2015): Leckie’s Imperial Radch trilogy comes to an end. The first two books, Ancillary Justice and Ancillary Sword were fantastic examples of sci-fi. Great themes. Great writing. Great characters. Bring on the final book.

Death Wears a Mask by Ashley Weaver (October 13, 2015): The follow-up to the lovely Murder at the Brightwell. I couldn’t be more pleased to dive into Amory and Milo’s martial problems – and murder.

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly (October 27, 2015): It’s been a long time since I’ve read something by Donnelly, and her newest YA title has captured my attention. There’s not a lot of authors that do historical fiction well for teens, and I think Donnelly is one of them.

Tower of Thorns by Juliet Marillier (November 3, 2015): Dreamer’s Pool was a fantastic start to a series and I really liked how Marillier combined fantasy with elements common to the mystery genre. I’m ready for more from the investigative duo of Blackthorn and Grim.

A Talent for Trickery by Alissa Johnson (November 3, 2015): This book had me at lady thief. Combine a criminal heroine and a historical setting – how could this possibly not be good?

Sweetest Scoundrel by Elizabeth Hoyt (November 24, 2015): After discovering Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series with the lovely Dearest Rogue, I am anxiously awaiting it’s newest installment. It doesn’t help that the author gives readers a nice, fat teaser with the heroine to be featuring in Sweetest Scoundrel.

Death Comes to Kurland Hall by Catherine Lloyd (November 24, 2015): I’ve liked the previous two books in this series, but I have to admit that I’m awaiting this one solely because of it’s investigative duo and their unresolved romantic tension. Here’s hoping it gets moving in it’s newest.

Lot’s of good stuff to read in September, and it’s clear that for me, it means keeping up with some of my favourite series. What’s on your list this fall?

4 comments

Share a thought!

