From the States to England: Distraction to the nth Degree

This post brought to you from 30,000 feet above the Altantic Ocean.

In the first post of our Traveling with Books feature, I hope you’ll follow me to the UK for traveling and reading adventures. In this new series of posts, we write about the books we read on the travels we take, review some and share why we read others… the format may change, but the point: traveling with books, will stay the same.

If you’ve been across the Atlantic, or even if you’ve been on a flight more than three or four hours, you know flying can be cramped, dry, stuffy, and in other ways entirely uncomfortable. To take my mind off the discomforts of my 8-hour flight – that is, before I take the Benadryl* and pass out – I will start with some new magazines: Money and Bazaar**

Of course, since this is a book blog about science fiction, fantasy, romance, and all the other good genre fiction genres, I’m going to focus on the books I carried with me to read on the plane.

So this one, not very distracting – at least, it’s not as absorbing as the genre fiction I usually use to escape. But, I have an agenda in picking this (heavy) book to bring with me. It’s all about strong women, in often dangerous and adverse circumstances. When compared to any of these queens, my paltry cross-atlantic flight seems much less dreadful. Life is all about perspective. Also, I picked it up on a solo trip in Canada, which is a bracing memory to have.

I purchased a few e-books recently from Book View Cafe – I tend to like their selection, and they often have deals, but I especially like that it belongs to a consortium of authors who sell the books themselves (avoiding publishing middlemen).

This one, by one of my favorite authors, Sherwood Smith, looks like such a fun story about a young magical thief who meets up with three other youths to have adventures. It reminds me of Wren and her group having adventures, and takes place in the same world. Comfort reading for sure!

Then, there are the advance copies I need to hurry up and review…

I absolutely cannot wait to open this one. A city of living bone, full of secrets and strange creatures, and one young woman who breaks a law and tumbles into those secrets.

I am also incredibly excited to finishing this space opera about alien encounters that also has some sort of time twist. Plus, a soldier heroine with psychic abilities!

Stay tuned for more traveling and reading adventures from across the pond!

*Word to the wise: Don’t buy a special OTC sleep aid, especially if the active ingredient is just 25mg of Diphenhydramine HCl. It’s Benadryl. Benadryl is cheaper.

**Am I getting older, or what?

Share a thought!

