Summer Itinerary (July-August 2015)

While I haven’t finished all of my anticipated spring reads (there’s never enough time to read everything), there is, of course, a whole slew of books that I want to read this summer. Who needs sunshine? I just want to be sequestered in my reading cave.

PicMonkey CollageA Study in Death by Anna Lee Huber (July 7, 2015): So I’m kind of obsessed with Huber’s Lady Darby series, and I absolutely cannot wait to read this one, especially considering the progress that Lady Darby and her suitor made in the previous book. Kiera and Gage are pretty awesome together and I’m pretty keen to see them working together now that their engaged.

The Shores of Spain by J. Kathleen Cheney (July 7, 2015): I was surprisingly charmed by Cheney’s previous book, so of course I have to find out how the trilogy wraps up with this final installment.

The Price of Valour by Django Wexler (July 9, 2015): No one is more surprised than me by how much I have come to love Wexler’s books. Military fantasy is so not me. But Wexler writes awesome characters and I’m very interested to learn whether or not my prediction from the previous book is going to be true or not.

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie (July 16, 2015): The previous books in this trilogy have been absolutely fantastic, I’ll be sorry to see this one come to an end!

The Other Daughter by Lauren Willig (July 21, 2015): While I’m a fan of Willig’s Pink Carnation series, I’ve never really been all that interested in her stand-alone historical novels. However, I think this one finally hits on a formula that appeals to me.

Once Upon a Marquess by Courtney Milan (July 28, 2015): I’ve been waiting for a new historical by Milan forever. While I liked her contemporary foray, I’m still a historical romance fan at heart. Here’s hoping this one actually comes out in July as it’s been pushed back a couple of times by the author. No matter the wait, I’m pretty much guaranteed to love it.

The Lure of the Purple Moonflower by Lauren Willig (August 4, 2015): I know, another book by Willig on my list. But, this is the final book in the Pink Carnation series, so it has to make the cut. I’ll be sad to say goodbye to this series, but I’m pretty darn excited to finally get Jane’s story. Yay for lady spies!

A Gilded Grave by Shelley Freydont (August 4, 2015): I love the historical period of this mystery and I need something to keep me going while I await Ashley Weaver’s follow-up to Murder at the Brightwell.

The Uninvited by Cat Winters (August 11, 2015): Another historical that sounds amazing. I love ghost stories and I’m really hoping that this is one appeal in the same way that Simone St. James’ WWI ghost stories do.

The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard (August 18, 2015): I love the premise of this one, it sounds seriously cool. Happily, I have an advance copy of this one, so I wont be waiting too long before I dive in.

When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare (August 25, 2015): Dare is a historical romance genius. I don’t think there is another author that combines humour so well with romance. Her latest promises to be another treat.

The Nature of the Beast by Louise Penny (August 25, 2015): I was introduced to Penny’s Gamache series this year by a co-worker and now I can’t get enough, these books can keep coming.

Lot’s to keep me busy this summer! What’s on your summer reading list?

2 comments

Share a thought!

