The adventure so far…

Today marks the one year anniversary of The Book Adventurers, so we thought we’d take today to reflect on our adventures so far. It’s been an interesting experience jumping into the book blogging world, but it’s been a lot of fun for us both. Check out both of our highlights below…

Jaclyn

When Stacey asked me to run a book blog with her a year ago I jumped on the band wagon. It was an idea I had been toying with, but needed the extra motivation to actually get started. Blogging has had its ups and downs – sometimes you just want to read a book for fun rather than to review – but it’s been a great project that I’m looking forward to continuing. And I like to use the blog as a legitimate excuse to read, not that I really needed all that much motivation, when you tell people you’re reading for your blog, it’s like having another job. Instant legitimization.

Looking back over the year, it’s clear that I’ve read way too many books (but not really), so choosing the best adventures is very tricky. But there’s always going to be some that stand out. Here’s my top six books from my first year as a book blogger:

Wake  The Goblin Emperor Somewhere in France: A Novel of the Great War

Cruel Beauty The Unbound (The Archived, #2) Murder of Crows (The Others, #2)

And because that was so tricky, I also had to add my runner’s up…

The Devil’s Workshop by Alex Grecian
Dawn’s Early Light by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris
Mortal Arts by Anna Lee Huber
Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare
The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn
An Inquiry into Love and Death by Simone St. James

Stacey

There are so many things to love about book blogging – the creativity, learning to code (just a little), sharing opinions and connecting with other readers, and obviously, reading. My favorite part has been to make connections between books that feel similar. I hope you, fellow adventurers, have enjoyed our Read-Alikes, too! It’s hard to compare how I felt about different books at different times, but here goes – my top six adventures from my first year of reviewing:

The Best of All Possible Worlds The Shadowy Horses Jaran (Jaran #1) The Other Tree Dirty Magic (The Prospero's War #1) The Secret History: A Novel of Empress Theodora

And because Jaclyn is right, here are a few Honorable Mentions:

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney
Raven’s Shadow by Patricia Briggs
Girl Genius by Phil and Kaja Folgio
The Waking Engine
Bittersweet Magic by Nina Croft

Now that I know what Jaclyn’s favorites are, I’m going to have to go read them immediately…

And those are our highlights for year one of The Book Adventures. What have been your favourite books that we’ve reviewed? What would you like to see more of? Do you find the Read-Alikes useful?

Share a thought!

