Christmas in July – My Spring/Summer Reading List

Some people have blockbuster summer movies they wait all year for, me, I have books. This spring and summer there are a whole heck of a lot of books that I’m looking forward to. I may just need to take my second week of vacation and simply read. So without any further ado here’s my spring/summer lineup…

The Bees by Laline Paul (May 6, 2014)

When I saw this was marketed as a cross between The Handmaid’s Tale and Watership Down, I was sold. Watership Down is hands-down my favourite kids book so I can’t wait to start reading my copy of this. It’s been getting a lot of buzz so I’m thinking it’s going to be a great read. Look for a review here in early May.

Strange Country by Deborah Coates (May 27, 2014)

I’ve been a little ambivalent towards the Wide Open series, but when I heard that the final book is going to be told in the alternating perspectives of Hallie and Boyd, this one quickly moved up my anticipated reads list. This is what I felt was missing in the first two books in the series, so I can’t wait to see what the author does with these characters.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (June 17, 2014)

Bardugo’s trilogy has been getting better with each subsequent book and I’m pretty invested at this point. Usually I hate the love-triangle tripe, but I just gotta know in the case of these books. Who will Alina choose? Yes, I am a teenage girl at heart…

A Grave Matter by Anna Lee Huber (July 1, 2014)

I’m pretty obsessed with the Lady Darby historical mystery series and I’m so glad that the author will be writing more books. I’m really hoping that in book three we will see more development in Kiera and Sebastian’s relationship. I like the way things ended in book 2, but I’m ready for these two to start moving forward rather than dancing around their feelings for one another. But I guess solving crimes can get in the way of romance.

The Bees: A Novel  Strange Country (Wide Open, #3)  Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)  A Grave Matter (Lady Darby, #3)

The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla by Lauren Willig (August 5, 2014)

Lauren Willig’s historical romance series is hysterical. I love how she combines the absurd with a light romance. This is the epitome of a great summer read. I’m also excited that it’s heroine is the sister of Turnip (from book 7) – one of the most unusual heroes to grace the pages of romance. Here’s hoping Turnip gets a cameo.

The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman (August 5, 2014)

To be honest, I’m not sure why I’m so excited for this one since the previous two books are pretty darn depressing. I think it has to do with nostalgia I get when reading. It reminds me of so many children’s fantasy books with an adult spin. The claim that it’s Harry Potter for adults is apt. I never know what to expect with these books so it will be interesting to see where things go next.

Evernight by Kristen Callihan (August 26, 2014)

I will read anything by Callihan and I wasn’t expecting a new book to come out so soon after December’s release of Shadowdance. But, hey, who am I to complain? We got to spend some time with the hero and heroine of Evernight in the last book, so I’m sufficiently intrigued.

The Kraken King by Meljean Brook (August???)

I’ve already read part one in the serial series, and I certainly have my opinion on that format. But I was intrigued with part one and the full novel is supposed to come out at some point in August, so I will be quite happy to read the book after all this anticipation,

The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla (Pink Carnation, #11)  The Magician's Land (The Magicians, #3)  Evernight (Darkest London, #5)  The Kraken King  (Iron Seas, #4)

Did any of my books make your spring and summer reading list? What are you looking forward to this spring and summer???

 

One comment

Share a thought!

