On the tenth day of Christmas…we dream of warmer places to read

I’m the first to admit that I’m not a huge fan of winter. I want snow for Christmas and that’s pretty much it. I also like to imagine that I’m more of an adventurous person than I actually am. So, adding on to Stacey’s post of escapist fiction yesterday, I’m going to have some fun and list the places that I’d rather be reading when I’m bundling up this winter. And of course suggest a book that fits the locale.

1. Hawaii

Really, who wouldn’t want to go here. And it’s also where they filmed the helicopter scene from Jurassic Park, which I think would be so geeky and awesome to see.

Read…Moloka’i…for a historic setting and coming of age story.

Moloka'i

2. Greece

The Mediterranean is beautiful and it is one of my top places to visit if I were to ever win the lottery. Love the history, love the scenery, I think I could read quite easily here.

Read…Chasing Aphroditeto learn more about the illegal business of exporting antiquities from Greece and Italy.

Chasing Aphrodite: The Hunt for Looted Antiquities at the World's Richest Museum

3. Caribbean Islands

Do I really need to explain this one? I would love to go anywhere in the Caribbean. Give me a fancy drink, a beach umbrella, and I would be set for the best reader vacation ever.

Read…Sex Lives of Cannibalsfor a the not so idyllic Caribbean vacation.

The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific

4. Costa Rica

Another spot where Jurassic Park was filmed. Really, I’m not obsessed at all with this movie… But on a serious note, it does look beautiful.

Read…Jurassic Park…are you surprised that this is here???

Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park, #1)

5. Turkey

Perhaps not the warmest place in the dead of winter, but I’ve seen pictures of the architecture and it looks beautiful.

Read…The Towers of Trebizondfor a funny adventure story.

The Towers of Trebizond

6. Charleston, South Carolina

A place that I’ve actually been! I love the south and I was completely charmed with Charleston and I would love to go back. Reading in an outdoor cafe? That would be lovely.

Read…The Restorerfor a creepy awesome mystery that set in lovely Charleston.

The Restorer (Graveyard Queen, #1)

7. Savannah, Georgia

Yet another place that I’ve been and want to go back. Love the fact that I can walk everywhere and it’s another place with a lot of history, hence a lot of reading material to choose from.

Read…Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil…for a true crime story in the heart of Savannah.

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

8. Malta

I once worked with a woman from Malta and it sounds like a perfect vacation spot. Lot’s of down time in a beautiful climate.

Read…The Brass Dolphin…for a historic perspective.

The Brass Dolphin

9. Italy

I hear wonderful things about the Italian coast. I’ve been to Italy but never the “beachy” side of the country. I think you could have the best of both worlds – the beach and lot’s of landmarks to visit. So when you need a break from reading, you’ve got lot’s to see.

Read...Bitter Greens…for a magical look at the city of Venice.

Bitter Greens

10. Egypt

An unusual choice to be sure. However, I’m putting this one on here for when time travel becomes widely used. I’d love to visit Egypt during the early twentieth century – a period that has fascinated me for a long time.

Read…The Other Guy’s Bride…for a fun romp in historic Egypt.

The Other Guy's Bride (Braxton, #2)

And that wraps it up for me! Stay tuned for tomorrow when Stacey moves to a colder climate…

Share a thought!

