Winter Itinerary

December is finally here, and as someone who’s not all that found of snow and cold weather, I’m very excited to stay in and curl up with some upcoming books that I’m looking forward to. And by looking forward to, I mean counting down the days to release dates. So without further ado, here’s my reading plans for this winter.

15787204Shadowdance by Kristen Callihan (Darkest London, #4)
Release Date: December 17th, 2013

I have been rabidly excited for this one since I learned that it would be Jack Talent and Mary Chase’s story. I will be running to Chapters before work on the 17th so I can get my copy and start it on my dinner hour, that’s how excited I am. Shadowdance is my most anticipated read of the winter and thankfully, it’s release date is around the corner. I hope it lives up to my expectations.

 

 

Bitter Spirits by Jenn Bennett (The Roaring Twenties #1)
Release Date: January 7, 2014

Love the concept for this one. Roaring twenties urban fantasy count me in! I’m really hoping that this series is going to be great, it sounds like a great blend of fantasy and romance, which is what I like! At this point, I haven’t heard any negative or positive reviews, so I’m anticipating it based on the premise alone.

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare (Castles Ever After #1)
Release Date: January 28th, 2014

I am a huge fan of Tessa Dare’s historical romances – they are quirky and fun and I can’t get enough of them. I was a little disappointed that this one wasn’t part of the Spindle Cove series, but Romancing the Duke looks to be in a similar vein and I’m looking forward to another quirky and funny courtship.

The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (The Archived #2)
Release Date: January 28th, 2014

I had read the first book in this YA series, and loved the lyrical style of writing and the awesome concept of an archive of the dead. The sequel kind of fell off my radar until I read a teaser with the first 8 chapters on the book. And now, I do not understand how I am supposed to wait until January to catch up with Mac and Guyliner.

Cress by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #3)
Release Date: February 4th, 2014.

The first installment of Meyer’s sci-fi series was a little lack luster for me, but the second book, Scarlet, made me a huge fan of the series. I love how Meyer is playing around with these fairy tales in a sci-fi setting and can’t wait for the Rapunzel themed re-imagining.

Three by Kristen Simmons (Article 5 #3).
Release Date: February 11th, 2014

Three is the conclusion to Simmons dystopia series and I couldn’t be more excited. Both books one and two were amazing and I need something to fill my dystopia craving now that the Hunger Games and the Divergent trilogies have finished.

Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop (The Others #2)
Release Date: March 4, 2014

Written in Red totally blew me away when I read it last year – it was such a different take on urban fantasy. I loved the world building and I’m super excited to learn more about this world and to see how Meg continues to interact with these monsters, because in this world, the werewolves and the vampires aren’t the romantic leads, they are scary creatures that eat the people that venture into their territory.

Dawn’s Early Light by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #3)
Release Date: March 25, 2014

This is an awesome steampunk mystery series. I love the concept of a secret organization and the heroic duo of Brooks and Braun are one of my favourite mystery teams. Brooks and Braun are great characters and their dynamic is finally starting to change and I can’t wait to see what they get up to when they head to America.

And that wraps up what I’m looking forward to this winter. Here’s hoping some of these end up under the Christmas tree!

What are you looking forward to reading in 2014?

One comment

Share a thought!

