‘Entwined’ in this Awesome Series

17861762Entwined by Kristen Callihan
Darkest London #3.5, Forever, November 5, 2013 (Historical Romance / Paranormal Romance / Steampunk)*

Rating: Outstanding adventure!

Kristen Callihan’s Shadowdance is one of my most anticipated reads of 2013, so I was super thrilled to find out that she had a novella coming out before Shadowdance’s December publication date. I am now official even more excited for the next installment in this absolutely fantastic steampunk romance series!

In Entwined Eamon Evernight (a redheaded giant) is the second, and lesser son, of the Evernight family. When his father betroths his older brother, Aiden, to a Lady Luella Moran, Eamon is quick to come to his brother’s side and decides to help Aidan when asked. Aidan has his own reasons for wanting the marriage to come about; however, he is unable to write and asks Eamon to correspond with Luella in his place. Initially, Eamon hopes that his letters will stop the marriage, but he does not count on slowly falling in love with the lady who writes such snappy and lively letters. When circumstances force Luella to come to the Evernight home early, Luella is confused by Aidan’s unenthusiastic reaction to her and Eamon’s friendlier demeanor. Of course, Luella is suspicious, but she also knows that this marriage must take place because she is keeping secrets of her own.

Entwined was a wonderful novella. I think the author did a marvelous job of condensing a fully realized story into the short format; something I think many cannot do well. The use of letters was sweet, to the point, and not overwhelming as it could have been in a condensed novella. With the letters readers got a taste of why Eamon and Lu were enamored of each other so that when they met you could understand their emotions. These letters showed a perfect basis for a romantic relationship that would have seemed sudden otherwise.

I also really liked Eamon and Lu as characters. They were both quite young, so there was a lot of endearing awkwardness in their first interactions, but they certainly hit their stride by the end of the novella. The youthfulness and relative innocence of the characters was a departure from the previous books in the Callihan’s series, and I think it was very well done. I loved the details about each character and the suggestion of otherness with Eamon’s talent with metal. These characterizations are why I love Callihan’s Darkest London series so much. Callihan just writes wonderful characters, who are flawed, but who always get their happy endings, and I’m a sucker for a happy ending.

I loved Entwined and since I’m greedy I wish it could have been longer as it’s just made me so much more excited for Shadowdance. This was a fabulous romance and I would say that anyone who is a fan of the series will enjoy this short trip back to the Darkest London. Entwined also gives readers a taste of where the series will go with the introduction of the Evernights, because as some will remember, Eamon and Lu’s granddaughter, Holly, made an appearance at the end of Winterblaze. I can’t get enough of this series! Now I will have to not-so-patiently wait for Shadowdance. Why does December seem so far away?

*Review copy provided via NetGalley.

Read-Alikes:

With this Kiss: The Complete Collection (With this Kiss, #1-3)Beauty and the Blacksmith  (Spindle Cove, #3.5)Tarnished Knight (London Steampunk, #1.5)To Sir Phillip, With Love (Bridgertons, #5)

With this Kiss: Young lovers, Colin and Grace, are very similar to Eamon and Lu, especially in initial awkwardness. Grace and Colin also write letters and it plays a big part in their relationship.

Beauty and the Blacksmith: Um, Eamon is a blacksmith and so is Aaron, enough said!

Tarnished Knight: Rip is not convinced he’s good enough for Esme, just as Eamon is convinced Lu could never love him, and both Rip and Eamon have some otherworldliness going on.

To Sir Phillip, with Love: Love by letters – Phillip and Eloise “meet” through letters and decide on a marriage, very similar to Eamon and Lu’s situation.

2 comments

  1. I thought there were so many holes! Maybe it’s because I haven’t read the series, or maybe I just have a different opinion from everyone else on Goodreads, but it was just too short and rushed for me. Still going to try the series, but my anticipation has plummeted.

    1. Really??? I loved it!!!! I think maybe it’s because I’ve read the other books in the series, so I know the “world.” I was talking to another friend and they didn’t understand where the powers were coming from, but that’s just a given for the world. Was that one of the “holes”? I also really like novellas, I like the format when I don’t have a whole heck of a lot of time to read them, and I expect them not to be as fully fleshed out as a full length novel.

Share a thought!

