Your Ghostly Reading List

11832043

In honour of Halloween, I’m creating a ghostly reading list. All of the following feature ghosts in some way (whether real or psychological). Since I’m me, I wouldn’t say that any of these books are terrifying, I am the romance reader after all. But, I love the concept of ghosts in books (especially within a historical context) and all of the following interest me in some way. Most of the books I’ve read, although I have included a couple I haven’t read, since I’ve heard some great buzz about them.

The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James

One of my all-time favourite books. It features a destructive ghost and has an awesome romance between ghost hunter, Matthew, and his newly appointed assistant, Sarah. This one’s not super scary, but those moments when the ghost arrives are spine tingling. All of St. James’ other works also feature ghost hauntings and she is a complete master at interweaving romance with freaky and inexplicable events.

Wide Open by Deborah Coates

Wide Open is the first in a trilogy featuring Sergeant Hallie Michaels, who has returned home for her sister’s funeral. However, Hallie has survived a terrible accident in Afghanistan and she’s now left with the ability to see ghosts. So, here we get a little bit of mystery, paranormal and a dash of romance. An added feature, the ghostliness is related to Native American traditions, which I found extremely interesting.

The Restorer by Amanda Stevens

Book one in the Graveyard Queen series, this one takes us to the South, where Amelia Gray struggles with her ability to see the dead. I loved the Southern setting to this, and since I’ve been to Charleston I can completely understand how this city could be haunted. The ghostly encounters in The Restorer was also extremely well done; I was completely creeped out by what Amelia was seeing, but there was no way I was going to put the book down.

The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Throwing a little teen ghostliness into the mix with this one. The dead are organized into a large library, but there are times when they leave their place. It’s up to Mac as a Keeper to track them down and return them to the archive. Not really scary, but points for being set in a refurbished hotel (The Shining, anyone?).

The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones

By this point, you can probably tell that I like historical fiction and ghosts in historical settings are even cooler and creepier. In The Uninvited Guests we have a whole host of ghosts that arrive during a young woman’s twentieth birthday, but why are they there and how do they get rid of them?

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

I think this one’s more of a psychological haunting than anything else, but I absolutely love this Shirley Jackson novel. The house seems to come alive, but is it is all in Nell’s head or is there something more sinister at work?

The Shining by Stephen King

I could hardly write this list without the inclusion of this classic ghostly tale. We have a haunted hotel and a psychic kid who can see all the lost souls left behind. A great read for Halloween!

House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski

For the ambitious reader. This is an extremely bizarre ghost story and a bit of a challenge to read considering the words literally tangle on the page. But, it’s worth checking out because the haunted house is seriously freaky, even creepier than the Overlook hotel.

This House is Haunted by John Boyne

I haven’t read this one yet, but I hear good things, plus I am very intrigued by the Victorian setting. I love the idea of spiritualism during this period and can’t wait to check this one out.

Help for the Haunted by John Searles

Another one that I haven’t read, but a co-worker compared this one to the movie, The Conjuring, which scared the pants off me, so I am intrigued. Sounds like a creepy coming-of-age story. Count me in!

And that’s all from me! Are there any other ghostly reads that you’d recommend?

Share a thought!

