Fall Itinerary

17380041Now that September’s hit, I feel like my reading list is out of control. There’s so much that I want/have to read this fall, I can’t help but think it’s really too bad that librarians don’t get to read all day at work. So without further ado, here’s a list of my most anticipated reads for this fall. Some (if they’re as good as I hope they are) will be reviewed here in the coming weeks and months. In no particular order…

1. Maddaddam by Margaret Atwood (September 3, 2013)

I first discovered Atwood after having to reading The Handmaid’s Tale in high school and have loved her dystopian books ever since. I’ve been following the Maddaddam trilogy, and have been both entranced and disturbed by the vision of the future Atwood displays. I can’t wait for the conclusion.

2. Longbourn by Jo Baker (October 8, 2013)

Pride and Prejudice remix? Yes, please! I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about Longbourn and the downstairs version of Pride and Prejudice. In some ways, I think it’s capitalizing on the Downton Abbey success and I can only hope that it lives up to the hype. Since I’ve got an advance reader copy, hopefully I will be proven right sooner rather than later.

3. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (August 27, 2013)

I loved Maas’ Throne of Glass and have been anxiously awaiting this one forever. I’m currently reading it. I love it, but I also hate it, since I know it’s NOT going to end well and then I will have another year to wait to find out what happens next. It’s moments like these when you wish you hadn’t discovered a series until after all the books were published.

4. The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn (October 29, 2013) 15702268

I love Julia Quinn. Her historical romances are cute and quirky, and I especially loved her latest featuring a mathematical genius with a limp. I can promise that this one doesn’t disappoint, since I’ve already read my review copy. I’ll be posting my review closer to the publication date.

5. A Study in Darkness by Emma Jane Holloway (October 29, 2013)

Steampunk is a genre close to my heart. I love the combination of a historical locale and the impossible. Holloway’s Victorian London, combines magic, steam barons, mystery and a dash of romance, all centred around her intrepid heroine, Evelina Cooper, Sherlock Holmes’ niece. I’ve just started reading it; so far, so good!

6. No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean (November 26, 2013)

MacLean’s another one of my favourite historical romance writers. She gives up great plots, great characters and fantastic romance. This will be third book in the Scoundrels series and I can’t wait for Temple’s story.

7. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (September 24, 2013)

The Shining is a book that I discovered in university when I had to read it for a class about hauntings. It was terrifying and amazing at the same time. I can’t promise that I’ll read this one right away, but it will be interesting to see what King does with Danny’s character after the events of The Shining.

171655938. Mortal Arts by Anna Lee Huber (September 3, 2013)

I’m not generally a huge mystery fan, but there’s something about a historical mystery that just draws me in. The second book in Huber’s Lady Darby series promises to be fantastic, now if only my library’s copy would arrive!

9. Allegiant by Veronica Roth (October 22, 2013)

Who isn’t looking forward to this one? Unfortunately, I’m near the bottom of the holds list at my library, so I probably wont be reading this one until the winter, but I’m still excited about it, especially since I keep seeing pictures of the upcoming film adaptation of Divergent.

10. Inhuman by Kat Falls (September 24, 2013)

Another teen dystopian. I don’t know too much about it, but it looks good. Plus, I have an advance copy, so how can I not be excited about that?

There will, of course, be other books that I’ll want to add to my “to-read” list for the fall – so it’s pretty clear that I need to retreat to my reading cave and blind myself with reading.

Share a thought!

